Ocean Diver

Ocean Diver is the first grade in the BSAC diving grade sequence, and is considered by BSAC to be equivalent to the PADI Open Water Diver / Advanced Open Water Diver and CMAS one star diver levels.

The Ocean Diver Course consists of:

  • 5 practical lessons diving in a Swimming Pool
  • 5 practical lessons diving in the Open Water
  • 7 theory lessons in the Classroom
  • A swimming test (200m swim)
  • A multiple choice exam

Open water diving should encompass experience of at least four of the following: shelving shore dive, steep shore dive , low (2-4m) visibility dive , drift (0.25-0.5kn) dive, small boat dive, large boat dive, wall dive, dive in protective clothing.

When training is completed, an Ocean Diver is competent to dive with another Ocean Diver or with a Sports Diver, within the restriction of conditions already encountered during training.

They can conduct dives with a Dive Leader (or higher) to expand their experience beyond conditions encountered during training, under the supervision of a Dive Marshal. Ocean Divers are initially restricted to the maximum depth experienced during training, but this can subsequently be extended progressively, under the supervision of a Nationally Qualified Instructor (NQI), to a maximum of 20m.

Ocean Divers will not have sufficient experience or knowledge to be partnered with trainee divers or to take part in stage decompression stop dives. Ocean Divers can only conduct dives where other suitably qualified divers, who can act as surface support, are present and the dive is properly managed.